Milky Mist Dairy Food Limited IPO — the disclosed details
Closed
The publicly disclosed details of the Milky Mist Dairy Food Limited mainboard IPO — issue size, price band, lot, objects, risk factors and dates — restated from the RHP and the price band advertisement.

This issue's bidding window has closed. What follows is the record of what was disclosed while the offer was open. It is not updated after the close, and it is not a view on the company or on how the shares have traded since.
This page restates the publicly disclosed details of the Milky Mist Dairy Food Limited IPO, taken from the Red Herring Prospectus dated August 4, 2026 and the price band advertisement dated August 5, 2026. It is a record of what has been filed, nothing more. If the vocabulary is new — DRHP, price band, buckets, allotment — read how an Indian IPO actually works first.
What institutional desks read first — the filed ratios
These are the company’s own “Basis for the Offer Price” disclosures from the Red Herring Prospectus dated August 4, 2026 (printed pages 146-161), restated as printed — this is not a valuation, and no view is offered on any of these figures.
| Ratio, as filed | Value |
|---|---|
| Basic EPS (₹) | Fiscal 2026: 1.98 · Fiscal 2025: 0.72 · Fiscal 2024: 0.30 · Weighted Average: 1.28 (weights 3/2/1); retrospectively adjusted for Equity Shares issued on conversion of CCPS |
| Diluted EPS (₹) | Fiscal 2026: 1.97 · Fiscal 2025: 0.72 · Fiscal 2024: 0.30 · Weighted Average: 1.28 |
| P/E at the Floor Price | [●] — the RHP prints a placeholder for both basic and diluted Fiscal 2026 EPS, footnoted “To be updated on finalisation of the Price Band” |
| P/E at the Cap Price | [●] — same placeholder and footnote |
| Industry peer group P/E (based on diluted EPS) | Highest: 79.76 · Lowest: 21.28 · Average: 52.56 — per the RHP’s note, computed on peers’ BSE closing prices of July 20, 2026, divided by Fiscal 2026 diluted EPS |
| Return on Net Worth (RoNW) | Fiscal 2026: 33.60% · Fiscal 2025: 18.98% · Fiscal 2024: 9.87% · Weighted Average: 24.77% (weights 3/2/1) |
| NAV per Equity Share (face value ₹2) | ₹5.87 as at March 31, 2026; after the Offer — at the Floor Price, Cap Price and Offer Price — the RHP prints [●], to be computed after finalisation of the Price Band / on conclusion of the Book Building Process |
Selected KPIs, as approved by the company’s Audit Committee and certified in the RHP:
| KPI, as filed | Value |
|---|---|
| Revenue from Operations (₹ million) | Fiscal 2026: 31,383.64 · Fiscal 2025: 23,495.03 · Fiscal 2024: 18,216.09 — growth 33.58% / 28.98% / 30.66% |
| EBITDA (₹ million) | Fiscal 2026: 4,352.19 · Fiscal 2025: 3,103.46 · Fiscal 2024: 2,223.30 — EBITDA Margin 13.87% / 13.21% / 12.21% |
| Profit for the Year (PAT) (₹ million) | Fiscal 2026: 1,270.09 · Fiscal 2025: 460.74 · Fiscal 2024: 194.44 — PAT Margin 4.05% / 1.96% / 1.07% |
| RoCE and RoE | RoCE: 11.73% / 9.54% / 8.14% · RoE: 32.12% / 15.11% / 7.14% (Fiscal 2026 / 2025 / 2024) |
| Total Borrowings (₹ million) | Fiscal 2026: 16,718.53 · Fiscal 2025: 13,763.76 · Fiscal 2024: 10,367.23 — Debt to Equity Ratio 3.61 / 4.20 / 3.68 |
| Net Debt to EBITDA Ratio (times) | Fiscal 2026: 3.81 · Fiscal 2025: 4.37 · Fiscal 2024: 4.59 |
The RHP’s filed comparison with listed industry peers (all figures as printed, Fiscal 2026 basis):
| Listed peer | P/E | EPS (basic / diluted, ₹) | RoNW | NAV (₹ per share) | Face value (₹) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Milky Mist Dairy Food Limited (the issuer) | [●] — to be determined on conclusion of the Book Building Process | 1.98 / 1.97 | 33.60% | 5.87 | 2.00 |
| Bikaji Foods International Limited | 62.33 | 10.31 / 10.30 | 16.07% | 64.03 | 1.00 |
| Britannia Industries Limited | 51.98 | 105.18 / 105.18 | 49.61% | 212.01 | 1.00 |
| Dodla Dairy Limited | 24.26 | 44.26 / 44.26 | 15.95% | 277.50 | 10.00 |
| Hatsun Agro Product Limited | 58.20 | 15.99 / 15.99 | 18.32% | 87.30 | 1.00 |
| Nestle India Limited | 79.76 | 18.15 / 18.15 | 67.85% | 26.74 | 1.00 |
| Parag Milk Foods Limited | 21.28 | 11.06 / 10.57 | 10.73% | 93.44 | 10.00 |
| Tata Consumer Products Limited | 70.08 | 15.59 / 15.58 | 7.08% | 220.02 | 1.00 |
| Average of Listed Peers (as printed) | 52.56 | — | — | — | — |
Per the RHP’s own notes: peer P/E is the company’s computation on BSE closing prices of July 20, 2026, divided by each peer’s Fiscal 2026 diluted EPS; peer financials are sourced by the company from stock-exchange filings and investor presentations.
The RHP’s Basis for the Offer Price section does not state an EV/EBITDA multiple or a price-to-revenue multiple anywhere, and does not print numeric P/E at the floor or cap price or a post-Offer NAV — those appear only as [●] placeholders to be updated on finalisation of the Price Band — and nothing here is computed by this site.
What the company does
Milky Mist Dairy Food Limited is a packaged food company with an exclusive focus on value-added products within the dairy market. The business began as a partnership firm, M.M.D. Dairy, in Erode, Tamil Nadu, under a deed of partnership dated November 30, 1998. The RHP states it was one of the first private companies to launch branded packaged paneer in India, and that it subsequently added curd, ghee, butter, cheese, yogurt, ice cream, UHT long-shelf-life products, chocolates and sweetened condensed milk. Products sell under the umbrella brand “Milky Mist” and sub-brands including “SmartChef”, “Capella”, “Misty Lite”, “Briyas” and “Asal”.
Manufacturing is centred on a single facility at Perundurai, in Erode district, Tamil Nadu. The company procured 396.15 million litres of raw milk in Fiscal 2026, predominantly from Tamil Nadu. The RHP cites a company-commissioned 1Lattice Report calling it the fastest growing packaged food company in India among companies with revenue above Rs 15,000 million, at a 31.26% CAGR from Fiscal 2024 to Fiscal 2026. That claim traces to the commissioned report, not to an independent source. The promoters are Sathishkumar T and Anitha S.
What the money is for
The offer totals up to Rs 15,530.00 million (Rs 1,553.00 crore) and has two parts. The fresh issue — up to Rs 14,280.00 million — raises new money for the company. The offer for sale — up to Rs 1,250.00 million — is existing shares sold by the promoters: up to Rs 750.00 million by Sathishkumar T and up to Rs 500.00 million by Anitha S. The company receives nothing from the offer for sale; that money, net of their share of offer expenses and taxes, goes to the selling shareholders. Their weighted average cost of acquisition is Rs 0.06 per equity share, as certified by VKS Aiyer & Co.
The fresh issue was originally up to Rs 17,850.00 million. It was reduced after a pre-IPO placement of Rs 3,570.00 million — 543,789 equity shares plus 25,000,000 compulsorily convertible preference shares, each at Rs 139.76. The CCPS were converted one-for-one into equity shares on July 22, 2026.
The RHP states the net proceeds of the fresh issue are for:
| Object of the fresh issue | Amount, as filed |
|---|---|
| Repayment or prepayment, in full or in part, of certain outstanding borrowings | Estimated Rs 4,968.61 million |
| Capital expenditure for the expansion and modernisation of the Perundurai Manufacturing Facility | Estimated Rs 4,692.40 million |
| Deployment of visi coolers, ice cream freezers and chocolate coolers | Estimated Rs 1,553.13 million |
| General corporate purposes | Capped at 25% of the gross proceeds |
What the RHP flags as risks
These are the company’s own words, from the risk-factor section of the RHP, paraphrased without addition:
- Contingent liabilities. Rs 2,290.09 million as of March 31, 2026: bank guarantees of Rs 66.40 million, Rs 1,948.71 million of duty saved under EPCG export-obligation licences, and disputed statutory and other liabilities, including GST demands under writ petition or appeal. Materialisation could adversely affect results.
- Raw milk concentration. 396.15 million litres of raw milk procured in Fiscal 2026, 94.51% of it from Tamil Nadu. Supply disruption, cattle disease outbreaks or adverse state-level developments could hurt operations.
- Regional revenue concentration. Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana together contributed 69.23% of revenue from operations in Fiscal 2026 (Rs 21,727.24 million). Regional disruption or competition could adversely affect the business.
- Indebtedness. Total borrowings of Rs 16,718.53 million as of March 31, 2026, and outstanding fund-based borrowings of Rs 13,907.23 million as of May 31, 2026. The “Milky Mist” trademark is hypothecated as security for certain financing arrangements; enforcement on a default could harm the brand.
- Product concentration. Paneer, cheese and curd together contributed 59.05% of revenue from operations in Fiscal 2026 (66.16% in Fiscal 2024). A fall in demand for these categories would hurt results.
- Single facility and pending approvals. The company depends on one manufacturing facility, at Perundurai, and needs to obtain or renew various statutory approvals, licences and permits, some applications for which are pending.
The numbers as filed
| Item | As filed |
|---|---|
| Issue size | Up to Rs 15,530.00 million (Rs 1,553.00 crore), including an employee reservation portion of up to Rs 20.00 million |
| Fresh issue | Up to Rs 14,280.00 million |
| Offer for sale | Up to Rs 1,250.00 million |
| Price band | Rs 133 to Rs 140 per equity share — 66.50 times face value at the floor, 70.00 times at the cap |
| Face value | Rs 2 per equity share |
| Lot size | 107 equity shares, and multiples of 107 thereafter |
| Minimum investment | Not printed in the primary documents; by arithmetic on the disclosed numbers, one lot costs Rs 14,231 at the floor (107 × Rs 133) and Rs 14,980 at the cap (107 × Rs 140) |
It is a 100% book built offer. Eligible employees bidding in the employee reservation portion get a discount of Rs 13 per share. At the band ends, the advertisement discloses the total offer as up to 116,783,206 shares at the floor and up to 110,943,193 at the cap. Equity shares outstanding before the offer: 667,828,789.
The band, the lot and the employee discount appear only in the price band advertisement dated August 5, 2026. The RHP itself leaves them to be decided and advertised — that is by design, not an omission.
From the Restated Consolidated Financial Information in the RHP (Rs million):
| FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue from operations | 18,216.09 | 23,495.03 | 31,383.64 |
| Profit for the year | 194.44 | 460.74 | 1,270.09 |
| Basic EPS (face value Rs 2) | Rs 0.30 | Rs 0.72 | Rs 1.98 |
| Total borrowings | 10,367.23 | 13,763.76 | 16,718.53 |
NAV per equity share as at March 31, 2026: Rs 5.87.
Who can actually sell on listing day
On listing day, most of Milky Mist’s share register is not allowed to trade. A lock-in is not a forecast of anything — it is a restriction on selling; it says who may trade, not what the price will do.
The RHP states four locked buckets:
| Who | Locked for, per this RHP |
|---|---|
| Minimum promoters’ contribution: 20% of the fully diluted post-Offer capital (RHP p.121). At the Rs 140 cap that is 153,965,758 shares. That figure does not reproduce as 20% of the 769,843,412 basic post-issue count used in the table below — it is struck against a different base, and the filed documents do not give the reconciliation between the two — and the exact figure is finalized with the Basis of Allotment | Three years from Allotment |
| Promoter excess: everything the promoters hold above that 20% | One year |
| Other pre-IPO holders: the entire remaining pre-Offer capital, except shares successfully transferred in the Offer for Sale and a Reg 17(c) carve-out for AIF/VCF holders already six months past their purchase date — relevant to the funds that converted CCPS in July 2025 | Six months |
| Anchor investors (RHP p.122) | 50% of anchor shares for 90 days, the remaining 50% for 30 days from allotment |
The anchor book is done: allotment was made at Rs 140 per equity share — the cap of the band — to 19 anchor investors on 10 August 2026, the day before the offer opened.
The count at the Rs 140 cap:
| Step | Shares | % of post-issue capital |
|---|---|---|
| Total offer | 110,943,193 | 14.41% |
| Less: anchor allotment, locked 30/90 days (as reported) | −33,235,713 | −4.32% |
| = Sellable on listing day | 77,707,480 | 10.09% |
| Locked or not offered — the rest of the register | 692,135,932 | 89.91% |
| Post-issue capital | 769,843,412 | 100.00% |
Two notes on where those numbers come from. The total offer is the share count the price band advertisement itself prints at the cap — not the rupee amounts divided by the cap price, which would give a slightly different figure because eligible employees bidding in the employee reservation portion pay a discount of Rs 13 per share. The post-issue capital follows from that same filed count. The offer is not split into fresh-issue and Offer for Sale rows here because the advertisement prints those two legs in rupees, not in shares, at the cap.
The anchor row is marked “(as reported)” for the same reason it is elsewhere on this site: the exchange anchor-allocation intimation could not be retrieved from a primary host when this page was updated, so the share count is the figure three independent reports agree on, not one read off the filed document. The tranche split of this allotment between its 30-day and 90-day halves is not disclosed in any of them; only the RHP’s general rule, in the table above, is.
Figures are from the RHP’s capital-structure and lock-in disclosures (pp. 75, 97, 116, 121–122), the price band advertisement, and reported anchor-allocation coverage, as of 12 August 2026.
Dates and mechanics
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Anchor investor bidding | Monday, August 10, 2026 (anchor investors only) |
| Bid/offer opens | Tuesday, August 11, 2026 |
| Bid/offer closes | Thursday, August 13, 2026 (UPI mandate end time 5:00 p.m.) |
| Basis of allotment | Friday, August 14, 2026 (on or about) |
| Credit to demat accounts | Monday, August 17, 2026 (on or about) |
| Commencement of trading | Tuesday, August 18, 2026 (on or about) |
Everything after the close is indicative. The identical timetable appears in both the RHP and the price band advertisement, and no primary document fixes a firm listing date — every post-close date is expressed as “on or about”.
This is a mainboard offer under Regulation 6(1) of the SEBI ICDR Regulations, proposed to be listed on the main board platforms of BSE and NSE, with NSE as the designated stock exchange. In-principle approvals from both exchanges are dated September 3, 2025.
Book running lead managers: JM Financial Limited, Axis Capital Limited and IIFL Capital Services Limited (formerly IIFL Securities Limited). Registrar: KFin Technologies Limited, Selenium Tower B, Gachibowli, Hyderabad 500 032 (SEBI registration INR000000221; contact person M. Murali Krishna; email milky.ipo@kfintech.com).
Information as of 10 Aug 2026, with the anchor and float figures updated 12 Aug 2026, taken from the offer documents and pages linked below. This is not an IPO review and no subscribe/avoid rating is given. Figures move through the issue lifecycle — check the filed documents before acting on any of them. Grey-market premium is an unofficial, unregulated price with no exchange record, and is not referenced here as information. Where the standing notice below refers to hypothetical figures, that covers the illustrative worked examples used in the options posts on this site — every number on this page is reproduced from the filed documents cited above.
This post is for educational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security or derivative contract. The author is not a SEBI-registered Research Analyst or Investment Adviser. Futures and options trading carries a high risk of loss and is not suitable for every investor — you can lose your entire premium, and more when selling naked. All figures and examples in this post, including the rupee premiums and price levels, are hypothetical and used only to illustrate the framework; they are not predictions, return promises, performance claims, or a recommendation to trade any specific instrument. Lot sizes and premiums change over time — always check current exchange data before trading. Please consult a SEBI-registered investment adviser before making any investment decisions.
Sources
- Red Herring Prospectus dated August 4, 2026, hosted on JM Financial's offer-documents server (BRLM primary source; 544 pages, downloaded and text-extracted, and every cited figure re-verified in this fact-check session) →
- Pre-issue and Price Band Advertisement dated August 5, 2026, hosted on Axis Capital's offer-documents page (BRLM primary source; 5 pages, downloaded and text-extracted, and every cited figure re-verified in this fact-check session) →
- Axis Capital public offer-documents page (BRLM document index; fetched this session) →
- Milky Mist Dairy Food Limited - company IPO / investor page (fetched this session) →
- SEBI public-issues filing page for Milky Mist Dairy Food Limited (draft offer document, filing dated July 24, 2025; fetched this session) →
- Axis Capital-hosted copy of the RHP (second BRLM host of the same statutory document; listed on the Axis offer-documents index, not separately parsed) →
- Business Today, Aug 6, 2026 — price band Rs 133-140, anchor bidding date Aug 10, issue timetable (secondary) →
- SECONDARY - Business Standard, 'Milky Mist Dairy Food raises Rs 465 cr from 19 anchor investors ahead of IPO', 10 August 2026 (anchor share count as reported; exchange intimation not fetchable) →
Common questions
How does IPO allotment work?
Applications are matched against the minimum lot size within each investor category (retail, HNI, QIB). In the retail category every applicant is first considered for one minimum lot: when the retail portion has enough shares to give every retail applicant one lot, everyone gets at least one and the surplus goes proportionately to those who bid more. Only when there aren't enough shares for one lot each is a computerised draw of lots used to pick who gets that single lot — and then each successful applicant gets exactly one lot, however many they bid for. It is never first-come-first-served, so applying early doesn't improve the odds.
What does the anchor investor lock-in mean?
Anchor investors (institutions allotted shares a day before the issue opens) are locked in and can't sell for a fixed period — and the clock runs from the date of Allotment, not from listing. Under the SEBI ICDR Regulations, 50% of the anchor shares are locked for 90 days from Allotment and the remaining 50% for 30 days from Allotment. It restricts anchors only; it says nothing about how retail-held shares will trade.
When do I get my money back if I'm not allotted?
Under ASBA, your bank only blocks the funds in your account — it's never debited until allotment. If you get no shares (or only a partial allotment), the block is released without any separate refund step: SEBI requires your bank (the SCSB) to complete the unblock by the close of banking hours on the working day after the basis of allotment is finalised — under the T+3 timeline, the day before the shares list. If it takes longer than that, SEBI's compensation policy provides ₹100 per day or 15% per annum of the application amount, whichever is higher — but it is complaint-triggered, so you have to raise it with your bank or the issue's lead manager to claim it.
What is ASBA / the UPI mandate?
ASBA (Application Supported by Blocked Amount) blocks the bid amount in your bank account instead of debiting it upfront. Retail investors bidding through UPI approve a mandate request in their UPI app, which blocks the funds — the money leaves your account only if shares are actually allotted.
The rest of the site
This page is a record of what was filed and published, and it stops there. The rest of the site is about the part that comes after you own something — how much of it to own, how to write the decision down, and how to grade it later.
Other issue pages from the same window
- LEAP India Limited · 7 Aug 2026 – 11 Aug 2026
- Technocraft Ventures Limited · 7 Aug 2026 – 11 Aug 2026
- Dhoot Transmission Limited · 10 Aug 2026 – 12 Aug 2026
- Molbio Diagnostics Limited · 10 Aug 2026 – 12 Aug 2026
Everything on this site is free.
Every page here — the IPO desk, the chapter library, the trade journal tool — is free to read, with no paywall, nothing gated behind payment, and no affiliate links. If any of it has been useful, this is just a way to back the time that goes into writing it, checking the numbers, and keeping it honest.
No perks, no tiers, nothing unlocked for paying more. Just support for the work, if you want to give it. Pay what feels right.